Board of Directors

The Center for National Security Studies is a project of the National Security Archive Fund, Inc.

NSAF, Inc. Board of Directors

Sheila Coronel, Chair - Director, Stabile Center for Investigative Journalism at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism; former Director of the Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism.

Nancy E. Soderberg, Vice Chair - Distinguished Visiting Scholar at the Department of Political Science and Public Administration, University of Northern Florida; former Vice President, International Crisis Group; former U.S. Alternate Representative to the United Nations; former Deputy Assistant to the President for National Security Affairs; former Staff Director of the National Security Council.  In January 2012, she was appointed Chair of the Public Interest Declassification Board.

Edgar N. James, Esq., Secretary - Partner at James & Hoffman; pro bono litigator on behalf of the Archive.

Nancy Kranich, Treasurer - Former Associate Dean of Libraries of New York University; former President of the American Library Association.

Vivian Schiller - Chief Digital Officer of NBC News; former President, National Public Radio; former Senior Vice President, The New York Times Company; former Senior Vice President, The Discovery Times Channel.

Gen. William Y. Smith, Ph.D. - Retired from the U.S. Air Force; former President, Institute for Defense Analyses; former Deputy Commander of NATO; co-author of Operation Anadyr.

Thomas S. Blanton, President - Director, National Security Archive.

In Memoriam

Russell Hemenway, Chair 1999 - 2014